The Nowbridge application uses your camera to take a photo of you every few seconds. The application repeatedly exchanges those photos with photos taken of your contacts. The system is mutual so your images will only be exchanged with contacts you wish to see, and while those contacts are exchanging images with you.
Yes. Unless you disable the feature in the settings menu, Nowbridge will always ask you to confirm before it starts the camera.
The system is mutual so your images are only exchanged with contacts whose images you can see. You can control who you can see and be seen by in the contacts menu.
That’s your choice. Groups are a useful way to set up contacts but you can still control which groups and which individual members of each group you can see and be seen by in the contacts menu.
Yes. The images are encrypted and they expire after a short period. You control who can see you and when. No one else receives them. Be sure only to connect with people you trust.
You can’t be sure of the reason. The person could be offline or they may not have chosen to see and be seen by you.
No, if you don’t accept someone’s invitation to connect or if you choose not to see and be seen by someone, they will only see a white square where your image should be. The other person won’t know why: you could be offline or not using Nowbridge.
In most cases the images will have been taken within the last fifteen seconds. If there is an interruption to the internet connection at either end, the images could be up to thirty seconds old.
The small images exchanged by Nowbridge do not use substantial amounts of data. You can schedule Nowbridge to pause and resume at a set time each day or each week day. Nowbridge works best if you leave it running for as long as you want to see and be seen by your contacts.
If your contact has entered their Skype name in their account details on the Nowbridge website, you can call them on Skype by right clicking their image in Nowbridge and selecting a Skype call to that person. Ensure you have the Skype client installed on your computer. If you only have one camera, Nowbridge will pause when the Skype call starts. Remember to un-pause Nowbridge when you have finished the call.
With Windows only one application can use the camera at a time so you may need to pause Nowbridge (using the pause button) before making or receiving a Skype video call. Remember to un-pause Nowbridge when you finish. As a longer term solution you might consider having two cameras – one for Nowbridge and one for Skype.
You can install and log into Nowbridge on a number of computers but Nowbridge can only run on one computer at a time. Running Nowbridge from one computer will pause Nowbridge on any other computer that is running it.
No, Nowbridge only captures still images every few seconds.
We have found technical problems can arise when the camera is repeatedly turned on and off so Nowbridge leaves it on while it is running. No video or audio is collected, only still images every few seconds.
No. Nowbridge does not sell or provide any information about you (unless required by law). Nowbridge does not view or keep your images or read or record your messages.
No, there is no advertising on Nowbridge.
Nowbridge needs to connect to servers using UDP on ports 9000 and 9002. If you are having trouble connecting make sure your firewalls (on your computer and on your network) allow outbound UDP connections to those ports.